First timer, running solo
Posted by wookz

So this won't be my official first time going to Gen Con, as I attended back in the early 2000's when they were still running it in Milwaukee, though I was much younger back in the day. Been wanting to get back to Gen Con for the last few years, but it always seemed that life happened to get into the way... being a workaholic doesn't help with that I suppose... well now work is forcing me to take a vacation this year, and I thought might as well seize the opportunity. Problem now being, no one I know can make the commitment to come with so I am flying solo.  

This will be my first time making the trip to Indy, and also experiencing the con as someone in their late twenties. I'm a pretty sociable guy as its part of what I do for a living, yet still the idea of approaching events and gaming sessions with already established social circles is a bit intimidating.  Is taking this adventure solo a mistake... as in, is the con more enjoyable with a group.

If this is a dumb question my bad, I'd just like to hear some other's opinions on the matter.

Posted by mvotruba

It was 10 years ago that I attended my first Gen Con.  I also went solo my first year.  To be honest in my reply, yes, it felt a bit strange.  I was surrounded by fellow gamers, but all my conversations over the 4 days were pretty "light" and superficial.  I knew I needed to so something different.

I DID come back the following year and tried to get more involved.  I sat in on one specific event with some great people and became friends with them...some from the US, some from Europe.  With some of them, the friendships have since grown.  I could not imagine how things would be now had I sat at a different table (or heaven forbid...didn't go that year), and knowing what I know now, I would definitely do it again.