The Geeks of Middle Earth: Authors, Creators & Fans of Science Fiction & Fantasy in New Zealand

Game ID:
SEM19152791
Gaming Group
/ Company:
Short Description:
New Zealand: so much more than seen in movies! Meet a vibrant community of authors, fandom, literary awards, & conventions for sci-fi and fantasy in the South Pacific.
Long Description:
New Zealand: so much more than what you've seen in movies! Meet a vibrant community of authors, fandom, literary awards, and conventions. Learn about key players, award-winning titles to add to your list, and triumphs and struggles of writing sci-fi & fantasy in the South Pacific. Hear how a homeland prone to natural disaster has influenced genre, how Maori folklore is represented, and dilemmas of writing true-to-life vs writing for international publishers while filmmakers can't get enough of our landscapes. Award-winning author Grace Bridges has been president of SpecFicNZ for 5 years and is the chair of GeyserCon 2019, NZ's 40th National SF&F Convention. Her works include space opera, Irish cyberpunk, and the Earthcore urban fantasy series and editing collections such as Te Korero Ahi Ka: To Speak of the Home Fires Burning and other short-listed anthologies.
Event Type:
Minimum
Number of Players:
10
Maximum
Number of Players:
30
Minimum Age:
Everyone (6+)
Experience Required:
None (You've never played before - rules will be taught)
Materials Provided:
No, materials are not provided for this game. You must bring your own.
Start Date & Time:
Duration:
1 hours
End Date & Time:
Thursday at 12:50 PM
Location:
Stadium : Meeting Rm 8
GM(s):
Laura Baugh, Grace Bridges
Web Address
for more information:
Email Address
for more information:
Tournament:
No, this is not a tournament.
Cost:
$0.00
Ticketing Method:
Electronic