Asking for a Friend (New Attendee)
Normal
Small
Posted by fjbradford

Hey guys.  I'm hoping some of you can help me out.

Yesterday, a co-worker came to me and said he and his teenage daughter had 4-day tickets to GenCon and asked if I could steer them through the experience.  (We are local to Indy.)  I've been coming to the con for 15 years, so I can guide them through badges, exhibit hall, event tickets/generics, parking, etc.  

However, I tend to demo a couple of games each year and spend the rest of the time playing games I've always played with friends I've known for years (and new players at times as well, of course).  So, I don't know if there are ribbons they can get that would allow them to play / sample games etc.  His daughter plays a pathfinder card game (which I am unfamiliar with), but I think they are open to playing some other kinds of games as well.  I seem to remember seeing / hearing about a cosplay parade as well but have no idea when / where that sort of thing is.

Any thoughts or ideas that could help make this a great con for them?

Normal
Small
Posted by divachelle

The single best resource for newbies, in my opinion, is the Rio Grande area. It's a free event all Con long, and they even bust out some snacks and beverages occasionally, also gratis.

Another great area for trying games is the Gaming Library.

Normal
Small
Posted by roundtop

All demos in the dealers hall are free. So they can try out a bunch of games. It won't be full games (maybe 20 minutes at most), but it is worthwhile.

The Rio Grande area is a good one for general games, as is the gaming library (however the GL is not free).

Also, If you have a game and you want to play it, but just need a table, talk to the HQ booth in the convention hall area and if they have one free, they will assign it to you temporarily.

Normal
Small
Posted by jedikitty