Housing Confusion
Normal
Small
Posted by angela0117@gmail.com

Hi All! Newbie here and I am so confused about the housing. Right now, if I search for a hotel right by the convention center it shows only a few hotels and their prices are expensive. The rest of the hotels (even when I call) say they have no availability for that weekend. So, where will the housing be that I'm hoping to get in on? And, if I happen to get a room, what if it's the same cost as the ones showing now that are available. I really want (like so many, I'm sure) to stay within walking distance) I'm just not sure how this all works.
Thanks for any info anyone can send my way!

Normal
Small
Posted by del_grande

Here's the "quick version":

Just about all of the hotel rooms in downtown Indianapolis, and quite a few in the surrounding areas, are set aside for GenCon's "hotel block."  The prices are much cheaper than what is being offered directly; I think the downtown rooms tend to go for about $200/night.

However, to get a room in the block, you have to go through GenCon's hotel reservation system.  That opens up on February 11, but you need to have already purchased a badge to be able to get in.  Everyone with a badge will be assigned a time at which the "housing portal" will be open and you can make a reservation.  Needless to say, the later your assigned time is, the less likely you are of being able to get a downtown room before they sell out.

Normal
Small
Posted by stiehle

Even if you don't get a downtown hotel in the lottery, don't despair!  Just haunt the GenCon hotel block inventory in the months leading up to the convention and keep your eyes open for a downtown hotel that someone drops for whatever personal reasons.  They DO come up, but you have to be lucky to jump on it quick before others do.

Normal
Small
Posted by father bloodlust stiehle

stiehle wrote: