Gen Con Expands Gen Con TV Streaming Video Program with New Shows

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SEATTLE (June 21, 2019) — Gen Con, the largest and longest-running tabletop gaming convention in North America, expands its Gen Con TV streaming video program with new shows. Gen Con TV, a year-round streaming video program launched in January 2019, features tabletop gaming news, live gaming, interviews, and more. Shows are streamed live on Twitch, where fans can watch and chat in real time, often interacting with the shows’ hosts; episodes are then posted for on-demand viewing on YouTube.

“Livestreaming has become a huge driver of the growth of tabletop gaming culture, connecting fans across the world and attracting new audiences by making the hobby more accessible to newcomers,” said Kristen Jensen, Gen Con’s Marketing Manager. “We’re excited to connect with Gen Con fans year-round, both in Indianapolis and around the world, through our Gen Con TV streaming video channels, and can’t wait to share our plans for future content as the program grows.”

After launching in January 2019 with weekly tabletop gaming news show TableTakes and live gaming program Game Night, Gen Con TV has expanded its schedule with new programming including Fireside with Peter Adkison, an interview show focused on the history of tabletop gaming.

TableTakes, Presented by Gen Con, is a tabletop gaming news and culture talk show, streamed live each Friday from Gen Con’s studio in Seattle. The show is hosted by game designer Emma Larkins (Heartcatchers, ...and then we died), actor and director Christian Doyle (Zombie Orpheus Entertainment), Gen Con Senior Event & Program Manager Derek Guder, and geek-culture streaming personality Banzai.

Game Night with The Brothers Murph is a weekly live-gaming show with brothers Mike and Nick Murphy, who play a variety of board and card games live on air while interacting with their audience in Twitch chat.

Fireside with Peter Adkison is a live interview show focused on gaming history, investigating games and movements influential to tabletop gaming’s development. This season, Adkison, the founder of Wizards of the Coast and current Gen Con owner, traces the inception and early years of Magic: The Gathering, featuring interviews with key contributors to the creation, growth, and success of the popular trading-card game.

Gen Con launched convention-long streaming of events on Twitch at the Gen Con 2018 convention in Indianapolis, netting more than 300,000 unique viewers of its programming with more than three million minutes of watched footage during the four-day event. Convention streaming will return at this year’s convention, across three Twitch channels featuring Main Stage events, live gaming with popular tabletop streamers, and game previews and interviews from publishers and designers.

Gen Con returns to Indianapolis August 1-4, 2019.


About Gen Con

Gen Con is the largest and longest-running annual event devoted to tabletop gaming culture in North America. The convention, which began in 1968 in Lake Geneva, WI, attracts 70,000 attendees and 520 exhibiting companies each year. During the convention, attendees choose from 17,000 ticketed events representing a wide array of board games, card games, roleplaying games, seminars, entertainment events, and more. Gen Con takes place each August in the Indiana Convention Center, Lucas Oil Stadium, and surrounding downtown hotel spaces in Indianapolis, IN.


Media Contact for Gen Con

Stacia Kirby, (206) 363-1492, stacia@kirbycomm.com


Gen Con TV Livestreaming Schedule

Game Night with The Brothers Murph — Mondays at 5 pm (PT), 8 pm (ET)

Join Mike and Nick for a fun night of chatting, hanging out, and playing games!

Gen Con News — Tuesdays at 4 pm (PT), 7 pm (ET)

All the latest Gen Con news and information, hosted by Gen Con Staff.

Fireside with Peter Adkison — Wednesdays at noon (PT), 3 pm (ET)

Episodes of Fireside will explore the origin and development of industry-defining games and movements, featuring behind-the-scenes stories and insights from the people who made it happen.

TableTakes, Presented by Gen Con — Fridays at 11 am (PT), 2 pm (ET)

Catch up on the latest tabletop news and talk, hosted by Banzai, Christian Doyle, Derek Guder, and Emma Larkins.

New Release Rundown — Fridays at 12:30 pm (PT), 3:30 pm (ET)

In partnership with local game stores, we review what released this week and why you should play it!


Gen Con Indianapolis 2019 Convention Streaming Channels

  • Twitch.tv/gencontv — Livestreamed gaming at Gen Con, including popular streamers such as Travis and Clint McElroy, Saving Throw Show, Maze Arcana, and more.
  • Twitch.tv/genconstudio — Game previews and interviews.
  • Twitch.tv/genconmainstage — The biggest events on the Main Stage, including Fantasy Flight’s In Flight Report and the 34th annual Costume Contest.