Pathfinder Events
Posted by lore seeker

I'm looking for some Pathfinder events to play, but while I have the rulebook I've never actually played before. And all of the events seem to be Pathfinder Society events, with a lot of the event descriptions seeming to include mention of an in-character "Pathfinder Society," which I know nothing about.

Does a prospective player have to know anything about the Pathfinder Society (IC or OOC) to get the most out of these adventures?

Posted by aegoce

You can easily show up with no knowledge of society and have fun.  The extent of my experience with society has been at the con so I'm not an expert, but basics are:

• Get a pathfinder society id from paizo.com (or you can get a temporary one at the con I think.  The GM needs you to have this so they get credit I think.)
  • If you're interested in following a larger storyine, pick a sesaon and start at the first module (In the event listings #8-01 means season 8 module 1)
  • If you're just interested in a 1 off module, try to pick something that shows either level 1 or 4 in the level range.  I think they have pregenned characters at both those levels available.  The pregens are usually available on tables in the back.  There's usually a big table on a pedastal in the center of the room you can go to ask for help.
  • If you are going to play a level 1 adventure, you can show up 30-45 minutes early and use a character building station to set up a legal character and get it printed out.  I think it's run by the people that make Heroforge, it's very handy and they have people there to help.  At that point you will have an official character with XP in the pathfinder society universe which allows a variety of things I've never bothered with.