Restaurant for a Romantic Dinner?
Posted by gamerlaura

I'm sure this won't be the last thread on this topic, but looking for suggestions.

My husband I have been coming to Gen Con for 10 years, and our wedding anniversary is the week before Gen Con.  It usually hits right in there close, so we traditionally have a nice meal out by ourselves while we're there, before all the craziness.  Previously, we had always gone to Fogo de Chao (at lunchtime), but two years ago we went there with a large group instead, and then last year when we went by ourselves we just didn't have the same experience.  Nothing against Fogo, just looking for something different.

Here's the particulars: We're coming in to town on July 30 and staying through August 9.  We're out by the airport this year, so the restaurant could theoretically be outside of the downtown area.  I'm a vegetarian (I gave myself a pass for Fogo last year) and my husband isn't very big on more traditional steakhouses, so not looking for St. Elmo's.  Also, we live in Chicago, so we have a lot of dining options in our normal life, would prefer something more or less unique to the area.  Other than that, we're pretty open.  This is our big dinner out on our vacation, so not too worried about cost, either.  

Anyone have ideas?  Locals have a restaurant you love?  

Posted by suburbaknght

There's a lot of good steakhouses in downtown Indy (my gf and I met at Gen Con so we celebrated our anniversary a few years ago at Ruth's Chris), though if your vegetarian that will limit their appeal.  For the record, I'd go with Ruth's Chris, St. Elmo's, Harry and Izzy's, Shula's, Capital Grille, and Morton's, but let's look at other options.