Don't reserve overpriced rooms out of the Gen Con block!!
( Locked)
Posted by joffrey_89

Let me first say I've been attending Gen Con every year since 2005. Regrettably this is looking to be the first year I will not get to attend. 

I was 3 hours and 30 minutes into the room queue and needless to say there were no downtown rooms available. 

I refuse to pay the ridiculous out of block prices and encourage everyone else to do the same. These hotels will not ever extend the amount of rooms they put into the block if we keep renting out of block rooms for $400+ a night. 

As as I said I've been going to Gen Con since 2005 and have watched these out of block rooms increase exponentially throughout the years. 

Let them eat all those rooms and they might offer more in block rooms next year. 

That being said if anyone has a king or double room downtown (in block pricing only) they need to get rid of I'd be happy to take it off your hands. 

Posted by rayken

I made my post hoping to help people who want to go to GenCon who have large groups and can split up the price. If you don't get an in block room, sorry, you can't just pout and demand they increase in block rooms. You have to pay more. Get a larger group and split up the cost.

You made a thread telling people just not to go and then ask to take someone else's reservation.

Posted by joffrey_89

That pretty much summed it up. I won't be going without an in block room. 

Whats your point?  

Posted by nascragman

People who have the money, will pay it.  This is capitalism.  Demand is exceeding supply.  It doesn't make me happy, but honestly, taking a cab or Uber back and forth from an Airport hotel (which will have free parking) won't cost much more than paying the $28 (plus tax) parking fee most of the downtown hotels charge.  It's just the midday naps/showers/costume changes that become prohibitively expensive/difficult.

Posted by wjpennington