True Dungeon
Posted by cosmicpower

I have been looking up a bunch of things to do at gen con, since this is my first time going. I found out about true dungeon, and wanted to know if it would be fun since this would be my first time going and playing. I would be nervous in doing this because of all the experienced players and feel like ill be a hinder more then a help.

Posted by alans

Lots of opinions about TD.  :) 
There is a separate forum at truedungeon.com you can also look at - some people set up runs just for those who are new to it.
In general, it's a good thing to try, then you can decide if you want to continue to spend the premium amount or if it was just "hey, I went to Gen Con and did that!"

Posted by aaronmlopez

True Dungeon should be on everyones "bucket list" for Gen Con. I found that I really enjoyed the experience and it was worth the money you spend on a ticket for it (they were all filled up by the time I tried to find events, but people drop out all the time and you can generally grab one using generics at any time). Personally, I will not be one to go every convention, but I am glad I got to enjoy it at least once.

Posted by aegoce cosmicpower

Most of the really serious players organize a group to fill a time slot so you're unlikely to end up with 9 veterans that want to do the highest difficulty.  

If you randomly pick a start time, most will include at least one other new player. 
Closer to the event sign up date you could also try looking around http://truedungeon.com/forum/.  You will find people happy to coordinate a start time with new players.  It's a good place to go after you get a time slot so you can meet the other people in your time slot.
basically don't worry about messing up. Be flexible in the first room picking a class, speak up if you have ideas in the puzzle rooms, and take your action quickly in the combat rooms and everybody should enjoy themselves

Posted by cosmicpower aegoce

aegoce wrote: