first time at gen con what to expect of exhibit hall product?
Posted by aduong314

This is my first time at gen con and I was wondering how easy is it for something to sell out at gen con especially if its the new release of a game. I have a true dungeon ticket for me and my friend on thursday morning and I didn't know if the stuff we want will still be one sale by the time we get out of the event which is 12 to 1pm. Specifically paizos starfinder is set to release at gen con and because its the release of it does paizo bring a lot of the product. I know the games that are being sold early before release will sell out very fast but what about those that are just set to release the day of?    

Posted by dynel

I hope you enjoy your first GenCon!

I think that smaller companies will sell out of product, especially if their product of in high demand.  For example, I was worried about the Fantasy Age RPG a couple of years ago.  I made that my first stop Thursday morning.  It did sell out (a couple of times, if memory serves, as they got a restock but it sold out as well).  I don't think Starfinder (I'm interested in it, too) will sell out before you get there after TD, but there'll be a line, for sure.  I'm not sure if I'm making that my first stop, because I don't think it'll have the demand Pathfinder did.

The exhibition hall is a major point for me, so I never schedule anything on Thursday, other than walking the hall.  

Posted by trace_sl

Think Paizo will be covered with Starfinder, at least until Saturday.  It possible they could sell out daily but figure they will have stock on hand to re-supply. 

Oh, if you sign up for the Starfinder subscription service and are at Gen Con you have until the end of the July, you can pick your August Starfinder stuff up at Gen Con.  See the Paizo site for details. 

It is the smaller vendors that you have to worry about as they have limited stock on hand.

Posted by andrewj.rager