First Time Hosting Event
Posted by jlafair

My name is Josh Lafair, I just graduated from high school, and my siblings and I launched a board game, Mapmaker: The Gerrymandering Game, on Kickstarter last summer. We had over 1400 backers and the game funded! Here's a link to the Kickstarter if you want to learn more. 

This is my first time going to Gen Con, and I was wondering if anybody had any tips on the best way to run an event. I've already read all of Gen Con's material as well as created several events, but I was curious to see if anybody has any extra advice. Thanks so much! 

Posted by buffythecatslayer

For anyone interested, here's the link for the events.

I have to say, looking at the KS, this looks excellently thought out & produced.  I've seen Kickstarters from gaming companies that didn't look that well done.

Key thing is to be on-time for the event, and be well-prepared.  Try to be at the table at least 15 minutes before, so you can have everything ready & set up when the players arrive.  Since you developed the game, knowing the material probably isn't an issue, since no one likes a GM that has to constantly check the rules, or is unsure of how routine situations are handled.

Just FYI, I would have left the fact that you're a high-schooler out of the event description.  If people don't click the KS link, and see how the game looks, they might just dismiss it as some kid trying out his slapped together game.

Good luck with it, and if you're getting this good a start at your age, we expect a long career of gaming development from you!

Posted by jlafair buffythecatslayer

buffythecatslayer wrote:
For anyone interested, here's the link for the events.
I have to say, looking at the KS, this looks excellently thought out & produced.  I've seen Kickstarters from gaming companies that didn't look that well done.