Event newb question.
Posted by geekydweeb29

Hello,

This is my first time attending GenCon.  Being a newb I didn't realize I should have bought tickets to some of the events I wanted to attend.  My question is I want to watch most of the games I am interested in to see if they're worth purchasing.  No biggie if I don't get to play.  Since I can no longer purchase tickets to the event I know I may be able to get in with generic tickets at the time of the event if there is room.  If I just want to watch the games do I still pay the generic ticket cost to get in.  As I said if I play great, if not no biggie.  Mostly just want to see the mechanics of the game etc.  Thanks for your input.

Posted by blackfox42

I believe it depends on the GM/Person running the game and also space limitations.

Your best bet is to show up with Generics. Then, if they can't fit you in to play, ask if you can stand/sit and watch so you can see if you think you'd like the game. Then, assuming they say yes, do just that: Sit and watch, and try not to interrupt.

Generally speaking, i've never had anyone turn me away from spectating, but best to ask and be polite about it rather than assume.

Posted by kwijybo2000

Depends on what games you're interested in. If there is a booth selling the game in the exhibit hall I bet there will also be a demo in there for you to try for free.

Posted by buffythecatslayer

Events will open up starting on Wednesday as people return tickets, so keep checking the events you're interested in to see if seats are available.  Note that you don't have to buy on-line & go to will-call; buy your tickets at Event Registration, the lines are much shorter than WC.