Has anyone used Airbnb? What was you experience?
Posted by joeyskywalker

I've never used them before, honestly it seems like a super shady organization that can just take your money and vanish vanish .

​​​

​​​​​​Have you used them for GenCon and would you recommend them?

Posted by gib_rebeg joeyskywalker

joeyskywalker wrote:
I've never used them before, honestly it seems like a super shady organization that can just take your money and vanish vanish .
​​​
​​​​​​Have you used them for GenCon and would you recommend them?
I have not used them, but there have been enough reported problems with them to advise against if you do not personally know the person offering the room your self.

There have been reports of bookings being canceled by the renters when they realized they could make more money. Or canceled last second for unknown reasons.

Keep in mind, Airbnb is not a hotel site, but more like ebay listings for rooms where you hope what they posted is what you really get with no real measure to seek recourse other then a "Sorry" and hope for a refund.

Posted by armadilloal

AirBNB isn't going anywhere any more than, say, Lyft or Uber is.  All they are is the middleman between 'you' and 'some other person's crash pad', sort of like Uber is the middleman between 'you' and 'some other person's car'.  (Naturally, it's not *really* that simple, but it's close enough for the point I'm trying to make.)

It's the other person who's word you have to take, not AirBNB's itself.

Posted by funny-shaped dice gib_rebeg

gib_rebeg wrote:There have been reports of bookings being canceled by the renters when they realized they could make more money. Or canceled last second for unknown reasons.

^^^^ this