Environment
Posted by jkelly

I am new to Gencon, but not cons in general.

I am running rpgs in JW room 30--.

About how many tables are in a room? Are you 5 ft from the next game or 15?

Do you have to speak up to be heard?

What should I expect?

Posted by derekguder

The number of tables varies from room to room and hotel to hotel. Rooms in the JW range from 3 to 6 tables, usually. Rooms in the Marriott are usually 4-9 tables. Rooms in the convention center are 12+ tables. Rooms in other hotels vary too much to provide any useful range.

And tables are 5' apart - there is no way we would fit anything if they were 15'.

-
Derek Guder
Event Manager
Gen Con LLC

Posted by brotherbock jkelly

wanderlost wrote:
I am new to Gencon, but not cons in general.
I am running rpgs in JW room 30--.
About how many tables are in a room? Are you 5 ft from the next game or 15?
Do you have to speak up to be heard?
What should I expect?

Be prepared to have to speak up, yeah. Best case you'll be happily surprised. Last time I ran a tabletop we ended up with a four table room all to ourselves. Not always that lucky. 

Posted by jkelly

I'm in the JW. 6 tables is way better than what I was imaging. Thanks for the replys.

Posted by ckell

I have been running games at GenCon, all of them at the JW for 5 years.  The rooms have 4 tables each all 6 ft. round tables.  They have ice water and candies on a side table in each room.  There are two larger game rooms with 6 tables.  The rooms get very loud at times. My games have drawn crowds toward the end.  If someone get too loud you can always ask them to tone it down some.  We just yell louder.  It is not always that way, just depends.  The restaurant downstairs has great wings!

Posted by raidkillsbugsded

I've run RPG's in rooms at Gen Con with between 4-8 tables over the years.  It hasn't ever been an issue (in a negative sense), since most cons I've run things at has that as a standard thing.