General Cost for Running an Event?
Posted by chronicdr2000

This is my first time running an event at Gencon so I get to learn all the fun in's and out's, Weeeeeeee! For my event, we have a meeting room at Lucas Oil. In general, if I am low tech and do not require much at all, what kind of cost am I looking at for running my event? Also any pointers for a first time event runner?

Thanks all!

Posted by marimaccadmin

I'm going to suggest that you review the Event Host Policy, at:

https://files.gencon.com/genconeventhostpolicy.pdf

It talks about all the aspects of your event, specifically, what you pay for and what you do not, and note particularly what A/V you are provided in your large seminar room for free.  We do ask all event hosts to be familiar with that document, thanks.

Marian McBrine
Event Coordinator
Gen Con LLC

Posted by garhkal

What sort of game?  If an RPG, it shouldn't cost that much at all..

Say 8-12 pages of stuff to print out (cha sheets for pregens, or 3-5 sheets if using say house rules to build a PC with), and how ever many pages needed for the module you are running (if home made).
40-60 bucks if you are providing an extra copy or two of the base book for others to use in game (that you get back!)
5 bucks for some spare dice
3 bucks for some spare pens and pencils..

Posted by stahlnee garhkal

garhkal wrote:
What sort of game?  If an RPG, it shouldn't cost that much at all..
Say 8-12 pages of stuff to print out (cha sheets for pregens, or 3-5 sheets if using say house rules to build a PC with), and how ever many pages needed for the module you are running (if home made).
40-60 bucks if you are providing an extra copy or two of the base book for others to use in game (that you get back!)
5 bucks for some spare dice
3 bucks for some spare pens and pencils..
Just add the necessary information to the character sheets and avoid the cost of an extra copy or two of the base book for others to use in game.