When can I expect to find out if an event has been approved?
Posted by abaff410

I’ve submitted a seminar, and I did so very early after submissions opened. This is my first time submitting an even to Gencon and I’m wondering when the staff starts deciding which events are accepted/rejected and when we will find out. Thanks!

Posted by buffythecatslayer

You should have been given an event ID when you submitted.  You can go back & check that event and view its status.  It will either be Submitted for Review or Approved (or Rejected, but in that case, you should have been notified).  Also, I think they'll email you when the event is approved.

Posted by nscott

Seminars might be different, but as someone who submits 2-3 games each year, here is my experience. 3-4 weeks before the catalog is released I expect to see my event status moved from submitted to reviewed. In the week before the event catalog is released I expect to see them changed from reviewed to accepted. So I wouldn’t worry about anything before April. 

Posted by catwhowalks99

I was just wondering the same thing. Thank you for asking, and thank you to those who answered!

Posted by kidlidar

This may be a little off topic, but close enough that I didn't want to start a new thread.  I was curious if the virus related shutdown is effecting the usual timeline of event approval.  I know that events don't usually pass through the process until April, but I didn't know how much of the company can telecommute etc.  Here in MD anything that isn't a grocery store, pharmacy, bank, or gas station has to shut down or telework from home.

Posted by rong

All my events (submitted day one) were accepted for consideration today.

Posted by kidlidar