Tell me what the 'required materials' are for your session
Posted by birdmanue

When my friends and I come to Gencon we always want to try games that we've never played.  We're looking for something new to buy.  I was looking through RPG session that require no experience for us.  (by the way being able to filter session by experience required to play is such an improvement)  I found an absolute ton of session that say that absolutely no experience is required.  The game will be taught (Hooray!).  Just below that it says that the players must provide their own materials. (....)

Now here's my problem with this.  If I have no experience with the game, how am I supposed to know what materials I should be bringing?  Should I bring dice?  (what kind?)  Miniatures?  (what kind?)  Do I have to have a character prepared in advance?  (how can I do that if I have no experience with the game?)  What else?

I've not had much luck with emailing event organizers (I realize they are busy).

I don't think it's too unreasonable to ask that, if an organizer requires you to bring your own materials, they should state explicitly what you're supposed to bring in their event description.

Posted by roderick

As a player, my "basic" gaming kit includes::

• A set of dice (at least one each of D4, D8, D12, D10, D20, D100 (however you do that - I like the nice the nice "0" and "00" D10s), and I put in at least 6D6. I have dice sets of various colors, so I can use, say, my orange dice if no-one else is using orange - it helps when it comes time to to gather up dice at the end of the game.  For me, dice don't have personality or luck, so I'm fine using whatever.
  • Scratch Paper - I usually carry an  8.5x11 pad.
  • Pencil and eraser ('cause you never know when you'll need to change something). I have one player in my Tuesday group that is always borrowing a pencil, and it gets annoying.