Newbie here: What is VIG? + question about name on passes
Posted by apparentlymarylee

Hi,
Planning on attending for the first time next year as a honeymoon trip. Went to http://www.gencon.com/attend/your_badge and it lists a price for "VIG badges" (VIP gamers I'm assuming?) but no info on how to get these badges or what they offer since the price is well above the normal badge prices. 

Any help?

Also, if my badge/info matches my maiden name but I've changed my name since getting married (not sure if I will or not) will I still be okay? Would bringing my marriage license along be acceptable? (To prove a valid name change)

Thanks!

Posted by watchdog

Once you become a VIG, you have the option for renewing each year as long as you maintain your membership in the program.

Because of this, there are only a few slots that open each year.  People will enter a lottery via email, and the winners will get to join the program.

Biggest perk of VIG (to most) is preferential treatment for hotel reservations.  I don't think they guarantee one of your top 3 choices anymore, but you can still pretty much be assured of a prime downtown location.

Other perks include getting into the vendor hall an hour early on Thursday, a lounge area with beverages and snacks, a nice swag bag, and meet & greets with industry insiders.  

If I'm forgetting anything, hopefully an actual VIG member can fill in the blanks.

Posted by galahadkoa

I was VIG for a few years. Watchdog hit on most of the perks in his response. The special VIG lounge is also where you can get event tickets without waiting in the long lines, rest your weary muscles after hours of running around, and a bag check if you want to use it. There are also special VIG only events.