How long to wait before taking generics?
Posted by tomorrow1969

Inevitably, there is always one person who does not show up for the event.  How long should you wait before accepting a generic for that event?  In the past I have waited 15 minutes (that's what we did in college before we assumed the prof wasn't going to show up).  Also, if the person holding the original ticket shows up 40 minutes late (or thereabouts) and insists on playing, what do you do?  I have not had this specific thing happen, but I can see where it might.  Any thoughts?

Posted by firvulag

Every event I've ever played at GenCon waits 10 minutes.  This is my first year running events and that's my intention as well.

Posted by garhkal

For sparks, we do the 10 min thing too..  BUT prefer to start as close to the time as possible.

As for what to do when the ticket holder DOES show up..  Sorry bub..  you're too late. 
Now you COULD be nice and take HIS ticket, and give generics for it..  But its not required.

Posted by tomorrow1969

Now you COULD be nice and take HIS ticket, and give generics for it..  But its not required.

That's great.  It would make a bad sitaution a little better.

Posted by derekguder

It depends on the event.

We encourage waiting up to 15 minutes for late folks to show up, assuming the event can accommodate that kind of delay.

If you need to start on time, however, either because it's a tight tournament or you have an RPG that is already packing a lot into 4 hours or whatever else, you can technically start right on time, if necessary.

In short, if a player shows up late, they're late. It is a courtesy to wait for them to arrive and you should extend it whenever you can, but it is not a requirement.

(though if we get lots of complaints it happens with all your events, we'll suggest just submitting a longer session to account for that)

-
Derek Guder
Event Manager
Gen Con LLC

Posted by derekguder tomorrow1969

tomorrow1969 wrote: