Housing lottery
Posted by robochgostef

I have been attending Gen Con since 1990.  My husband has attended since 1982 approximately.   I find it outrageous that we always end up with crap housing slots when we register immediately for our badges.   Your system might seem "fair" but there is absolutely no reward for loyalty to the people who made this convention so popular.   You don't even bring in any big name stars anymore yet your prices go up constantly and you block out rooms for your staff at all the closest hotels.  
go back to a first come first serve system or have it based off badge ID or whoever registered their badges first.  That would truly be fair.

Posted by donaldbain

Feel better?

Posted by squirecam robochgostef

robochgostef wrote:
I have been attending Gen Con since 1990.  My husband has attended since 1982 approximately.   I find it outrageous that we always end up with crap housing slots when we register immediately for our badges.   Your system might seem "fair" but there is absolutely no reward for loyalty to the people who made this convention so popular.   You don't even bring in any big name stars anymore yet your prices go up constantly and you block out rooms for your staff at all the closest hotels.  
go back to a first come first serve system or have it based off badge ID or whoever registered their badges first.  That would truly be fair.

they will never go back to that

Posted by funny-shaped dice

Hmmm....where did I put suburbaknght’s annual housing lottery sucks thread...

Oh! Here it is: https://www.gencon.com/forums/43-travel-housing-and-dining-2019/topics/14514-annual-make-housing-fair-discussion-summary

Can we *not* have this discussion now?

Good luck everyone!  Keep in mind that downtown rooms open up throughout the year.  You can score a downtown room later in the year by watching the housing portal.  I scored 2 of them last year that way by just checking into the portal frequently.

Posted by matthias9

Yep, that.