new health update:
( Locked)
1 3 4 5
1 3 4 5
Posted by sovietprince

Just read feb update and it's got me worried, I am a big pro vax and mask type of person but why does the limits seem worse then last years when cases are on the downswing? The virus will always be with us in some compacity and if we wait on it going away will be wearing mask forever. 

I also get that guidence can change but will it change in time for venders that choose to pass on last year to reassess there willingness to go or not? Last year was underwelming for us (though I do understand why that year) I missed the fANTASY flights and upper deck tier venders. 

I get why it was done last year not complaning about that, i just don't see why restrictions are getting tighter when things so far look to be going in the right direction. 

PS: I do appreciate the event staff this is not meant to bash but to share a concern

Posted by grognard262

I think they are basically saying, worst case, this is what to expect.  If conditions allow, they may relax the requirements.

Omicron is declining rapidly and the CDC is expected to update masking recommendations in the next week or so.  I think it is very likely that they will say it is okay for vaccinated people to forego masking as long as severe disease and hospitalizations are below a certain threshold.  Cross your fingers!

I wouldn't expect Gen Con to set their final policy until the convention date is near.  As Omicron showed us, things can change rapidly.

Posted by donaldbain

It's easier to relax restriction closer to the con than to add new ones. 

Posted by sovietprince donaldbain

donaldbain wrote:t's easier to relax restriction closer to the con than to add new ones. 
I just wonder how it will effect vender attendenceot

Posted by brumcg sovietprince

sovietprince wrote:I just wonder how it will effect vender attendenceot

Those decisions have already been made for the most part.  IIRC, 2/4 was a big deadline for exhibitors.